How to- Head Proportions: The Basics

Little Brown Artist

Well hello, there!

Yes, this blog still exists, and so do I! As an apology for abandoning it for this long, here’s a two part tutorial on one of my favourite themes!

I get so many questions about how I draw realistic faces, and what methods I use to create the line-art. In the past, I relied on the grid method, the tutorial for which you can find HERE. That got very tiring fairly soon, though, so I gave the proportions method a go, and it’s so much quicker and more independent! If you’re a beginner or don’t know how to go about drawing faces from the imagination, I suggest applying this method to a reference. Real faces give you better practice than trying to work within your own mind!

Keep reading to find out exactly how this method works.

Step 1: Start with nothing simpler than a circle…

View original post 352 more words

Leave a Reply

