Darkroom, bright light

tea&bannock

I’ve always taken pictures.

My earliest memory holding a camera I was five. I remember the feel of the cold chrome and smooth black leather and the hefty weight of it in my hands. It felt like a fragile brick.

I remember my eye looking through the view finder and the satisfactory “click” I heard made when I pushed the trigger.

I remember how the viewfinder would go black for a quick moment when the shutter opened and closed. When I captured that first frame, something captured me.

By high school I knew my way around a roll of film pretty well – but entering the darkroom was a new freedom. I could spend hours dodging and burning. Hanging film. Finding the perfect contrast. Reprinting the same image until I had it just right.

My story at the time was of the only indigenous student in a predominantly white school…

View original post 228 more words

Leave a Reply

