Steamed taro cake (芋頭糕)

The Misadventures of MissC

Earlier this year I bought a proper steamer with the intention of making more steamed goodies. By proper, I mean one of those big ass Asian style steamers.

IMG_7731

See this is the type of steamer you need if you really want to make serious steamed treats, not those piddly little electronic ones. Before I got my hands on this baby, I usually employed a common trick and used my wok or large pot to steam things, but it had limitations. The trick is to: fill your wok with ~1/3 water, invert a bowl in the centre of the wok, balance a plate on top of the bowl, place the item you want to steam on top of the plate and cover with large lid. (See my very rudimentary artwork below, it should demonstrate how I’d used this method to steam fish.)

woksteamerThe problem with this method is that you are…

View original post 915 more words

Leave a Reply

